ホーム フォーラム ブログに関する感想やご要望など (MOBI) Annie Duke by Annie Duke

このトピックには1件の返信が含まれ、1人の参加者がいます。3 年、 1 ヶ月前 saku-nana さんが最後の更新を行いました。

2件の投稿を表示中 - 1 - 2件目 (全2件中)
  • 投稿者
    投稿
  • #3922返信

Ashton Little

Annie Duke
    How I Raised, Folded, Bluffed, Flirted, Cursed, and Won Millions at the World Series of Poker

by Annie Duke, David Diamond

🔥 Annie Duke · READ MORE 🔥

• Language: english
    • Genres: memoir, biography
    • Format: hardcover, 260 pages
    • ISBN: 9781594630125 (1594630127)
    • Release date: September 8, 2005
    • Publisher: Hudson Street Press
    • Author: Annie Duke, David Diamond

About The Book

The top-ranked female poker player in the world reveals an insider’s view of the World Series of Poker, a glimpse of her fascinating journey to the top, and keen analysis of winning hands

From the Introduction

I never set out to become a professional poker player.

I was schooled at St. Paul’s School, where my father taught English; Columbia University, where I majored in psychology and English literature, and the University of Pennsylvania, where, at twenty-six, I was nearing completion of a PhD in psycholinguistics.

The afternoon before I was scheduled to meet the academic committee for a job interview, I drove my Honda from Philadelphia to New York, to see my mother. She wanted to have a little pre-celebration for a future that was mine for the taking, an academic career that would ooze prominence and prosperity.

Once inside the apartment, suddenly, a dam burst. A simple tin trash can stood below my mother’s desk; I leaned over and hurled into it, again and again. The diagnosis? I was afraid to grow up.